Cooperation between Baltic presidents

On 12 May 1991 the Chairmen of the Supreme Soviets of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania met in Tallinn and established the Council of the Baltic States, which was meant to be a co-operation forum for the heads of state of that period. The initial name was used later as well on the occasion of the meetings of constitutional presidents. On 18 November 1993 the presidents approved the statutes modifying the initial name into the Baltic Council. The same name came to be used by the joint forum of the Baltic Assembly and the Baltic Council of Ministers, so in order to avoid confusion, the heads of state stopped using the name as a title for their meetings. The meetings of the presidents can be called the Baltic Presidents’ Council. As a rule, they meet once a year. The last meeting of the heads of state was on 3 October 2013 in Bīriņi, Latvia.

Baltic and Polish presidents meeting

Baltic and Polish presidents Toomas Hendrik Ilves, Andris Bērziņš, Dalia Grybauskaitė and Bronisław Komorowski had a meeting at Kõue Manor near Tallinn on December, 2. Read more