Baltic Assembly

The Baltic Assembly (BA) is an institution for parliamentary co-operation among Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania. It was established on 8 November 1991. Each of the Baltic States is represented in the Assembly by 12-20 parliamentarians. The chairmanship of the Baltic Assembly coincides with the chairmanship of the BCM and lasts for one calendar year. The Baltic Assembly convenes twice a year for a spring and a fall session. In the time between the sessions, the work of the Baltic Assembly is co-ordinated by a Presidium that meets four times a year, whose chairman is the leader of the chairman nation’s delegation to the Baltic Assembly. The Baltic Assembly website

The Assembly is a coordinating and consultative institution. The BA has the right to make its views known to the national parliaments, governments and the Baltic Council of Ministers in the form of a resolution, decision, declaration and recommendation, while using the form of an appeal, proposal, or announcement when addressing other international or regional organizations. Between sessions, the Presidium of the BA may make decisions about current issues. The Baltic Assembly has five standing committees.

The 32nd session of Baltic Assembly was held in Riga from November 28-29, 2013. The 19th Baltic Council meeting took place at the same location. Their documents are available here. The 33nd session of Baltic Assembly and the 20th session of the Baltic Council were held in Tallinn on 23-24. October 2014. Adopted documents: